Neville Alberto named Chair of the Council of Transitional Year Program Directors


Neville Alberto, MD, FACP, Program Director of the UND Transitional Year Residency Program, has accepted a five year term as Chair of the Council of Transitional Year Program Directors (CTYPD). This includes two years as Chair Elect, two years as Chair, and one year as the Immediate Past Chair.

The Chair of the CTYPD:

  • advocates for transitional year programs (110 programs & 1250 residents) and the physicians who direct these programs;
  • communicates the purpose and unique features of the transitional year to deans, student affairs offices, medical students, specialty programs directors, and other interested parties;
  • provides networking and educational opportunities for transitional year program directors, with specific emphasis on accreditation issues, resident recruitment, and curriculum development;
  • provides a forum for addressing important issues regarding preparatory clinical training;
  • serves as an effective liaison for transitional year program directors with ACGME, the Transitional Year Review Committee, the AAMC Group on Student Affairs, associations of specialty programs directors, and other organizations;
  • collects and distributes information on transitional year programs and preparatory clinical training opportunities; and
  • alerts transitional year directors to important issues which will impact their programs and/or their sponsoring institutions.

Congratulations, Dr. Alberto!