ACP and SHM North Dakota chapters announce 2021 poster winners

The annual American College of Physicians (ACP) and Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) North Dakota Chapters Poster Competition and “Doctor’s Dilemma Medical Jeopardy” competition were held on Thursday, Oct. 7, 2021.

The winners in each category included several current and former SMHS medical students:

ACP Research
First Place – #6 “Asymptomatic Preoperative COVID-19 Screening: A Single Center Study” by Stacy Ploom
Second Place – #3 “Outcomes in Malignant Pleural Effusion Treatments: An investigation into length of stay, survival rates, and dyspnea scores in patients receiving indwelling pleural catheters, talc pleurodesis, or both” by Megan DeVillers, Zachary Mohs, Stephanie Ziegler

ACP Clinical Vignette – Medical Students
First Place – #10 “Fatal Case of Liver and Brain Abscesses due to Fusobacterium nucleatum” by Nadia Toumeh & Megha Mudireddy
Second Place – #14 “Scurvy, Presenting with Geographic Tongue” by Matthew Kretschmar & Erika Mojica

ACP Clinical Vignette – Residents
First Place – #5 “Giant Cell Arteritis and Mesenteric Ischemia” by Katrina Lybeck
Second Place – #2 “A Case of Missing Pill-Iron Pill Aspiration” by Vinita Vaidya

ACP First Place Winners will be eligible to participate in the national abstract competition in April in Chicago, Ill. Only first authors may present at National ACP.

The ACP posters are posted on the ACP website.

SHM Clinical Vignette
First Place – #1 “Lemmel’s Syndrome Secondary to Common Bile Duct Compression by an Inflamed Duodenal Diverticulum” by Ashley Gao
Second Place – #5 “Successful Treatment of Refractory Status Asthmaticus with Inhaled Anesthetics: A Case Report” by Katrina Lybeck

SHM Quality Improvement/Innovations
First Place – #1 “Preventing Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection (CLABSI) at Sanford Health-Fargo” by Hallie Thompson
Second Place – #2 “Improvement in Antimicrobial Stewardship Programs (ASP) Acceptance Rates Following Integrated Secure Messaging Implementation” by Aishwarya Sharma

SHM First Place Winner in the Clinical Vignette category will be eligible to participate in the national abstract competition in April in Nashville, Tenn.

Special thanks to our judges for volunteering their time and expertise:

  • Dr. Ron Ottenbacher
  • Dr. Siddharth Singhal
  • Dr. Mahammed Khan Suheb
  • Dr. Tze Shien Lo
  • Dr. Kim Hammer
  • Dr. Nayan Desai
  • Dr. Gopikrishna Paladugu
  • Dr. Chandra Thondapi

The Doctor’s Dilemma winning team was:

  • Umama Zareen
  • Mathew Gerving
  • Logan Schmaltz
  • Jenna Gassman
  • Andrew Sefain

Three players from the winning team will be eligible to compete at the national ACP Doctor’s Dilemma competition.

Thank you to Dr. Riley Clark for hosting the Doctor’s Dilemma competition. Congratulations to everyone and thank you again for participating!