Three Medical Laboratory Science Students receive national organization scholarships

Congratulations to the three senior undergraduates from the UND Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) program — Morgan Kainz, Jacob Tupa, and Grace Matter — who won awards from Alpha Mu Tau, the scholarship fraternity of the American Society of Clinical Laboratory Science. Kainz, Tupa, and Matter won the Ida and May Reilly Memorial Scholarship, the Eleanor Parchman Memorial Scholarship, and the Roma E. Brown Memorial and Nellie M. Bering Scholarship, respectively.

The mission of Alpha Mu Tau is to recognize persons who have made outstanding professional contributions to the field of clinical laboratory science and to enhance the profession by providing scholarships to support educational endeavors. Only fourteen undergraduate scholarships were given out across the United States in 2021, making UND’s MLS program the winner of more than 21% of this year’s undergrad scholarships.