Hartenstein Receives a 2016 Lillian Elsinga Outstanding Student Leader Award

Sarah Hartenstein, a student in the Medical Laboratory Science Program, was nominated and was selected to receive a 2016 Lillian Elsinga Outstanding Student Leader Award. The staff of the Student Involvement and Leadership Office commended Hartenstein on the recognition and thanked her for her leadership at UND and in the Grand Forks community. Read more

Seeking a Better NET Result – NIH Grants $1.7 million to UND Scientist to Study Possible Cause of a Life-threatening Reaction in Pneumonia Patients

The National Institutes of Health has granted $1.7 million to Assistant Professor Jyotika Sharma, Ph.D., in the Department of Basic Sciences at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences, to pursue research on a possible mechanism that causes a life-threatening reaction in pneumonia patients. The five-year R01 grant is the highest level of research supported by the NIH.

sharma-jyotika-11-24-15-hsFunded by two R21 grants, an American Heart Association grant and a UND Faculty Research Seed grant since she joined UND in August 2011, Sharma’s research focuses on sepsis, which is a life-threatening medical condition that results from a systemic inflammatory response by the body to fend off a severe infection or to recover from a traumatic injury.  Read more

New REU Site Promotes Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry

The National Science Foundation has awarded UND $270,000 to fund a new Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry (IREC) Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program.

Led by Alena Kubatova and Frank Bowman, the IREC REU provides undergraduate students a 10-week summer research experience at UND using interdisciplinary research projects at the intersection of chemistry, chemical engineering, and atmospheric sciences. Read more

Tom Mohr Named Catherine Worthingham Fellow by APTA

Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor Tom Mohr, PT, PhD, Associate Dean for Health Sciences at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, received the Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award from the American Physical Therapy Association. The APTA announced Mohr’s honor at its national NEXT Conference and Exposition in National Harbor, Md.

The Catherine Worthingham Fellow designation—FAPTA—honors individuals whose contributions to the profession through leadership, influence and achievements constitute frequent and sustained efforts to advance physical therapy. As a Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association, Mohr has earned the APTA’s highest honor. Read more