Research Experience for Undergraduates award recipients announced

Five students from five North Dakota universities are award recipients of the Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) Pilot program of ND Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (ND EPSCoR). Under the award, students will work with faculty on cutting-edge research projects in chemistry, materials science, engineering, hydrology, agribusiness and applied economics, and atmospheric sciences, while learning scientific research and communication skills. Their research projects will consist of a total of 200 hours conducted for up to one year beginning June 1, 2016.  Recipients are awarded a stipend of $5,000 and up to $2000 for summer housing.

The REU program is primarily geared toward undergraduate students in the STEM disciplines and provides the opportunity to work in the Center for Regional Climate Studies (CRCS) or the Center for Sustainable Materials Science (CSMS). Students must be enrolled at North Dakota State University, University of North Dakota, one of the five tribal colleges located in North Dakota, or one of four North Dakota University System primarily undergraduate institutions.

Student recipients, their institutions, Center of Research, and advisors are:

  • Levi Bassett, Dickinson State University, CRCS, Joshua Steffan
  • Quintin Elliott, University of North Dakota, CSMS, Qianli Chu
  • Breanne Hatfield, Minot State University, CSMS, Mikhail Bobylev
  • Billi Petermann, Dickinson State University, CRCS, Eric Brevik
  • Hayden Zander, Valley City State University, CRCS, Andre DeLorme

North Dakota EPSCoR is a federally and state funded program designed to improve the ability of university and college researchers to compete more effectively for federal, regional and private research grants in the sciences, technology, engineering and mathematics.