Aug. 10: Undergraduate students showcase summer research

Ten undergraduates from across the country will present the results of their research this summer at the Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry (IREC) Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) poster session and awards ceremony from 10 a.m. to noon on Thursday, Aug. 10, in the Hamilton Atrium of the Collaborative Energy Complex.  Light snacks and beverages will be served.

The poster session is the culmination of the students’ summer-long research and gives them a chance to explain their work to the public in an informal setting. The program participants, who have come to UND from all over the United States, have spent the past 10 weeks being mentored by interdisciplinary teams of faculty in UND’s Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, and Atmospheric Sciences departments, working together in their laboratories and at community outreach events.

Funding for the students and summer program activities was provided by the National Science Foundation through grants supporting the IREC REU and Women in Science and Engineering, the North Dakota Department of Commerce through a Research ND grant, and by the UND Departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

Research projects targeted development of biodegradable polymers from renewable resources, modeling of combustion systems, synthesis of lithium ion battery materials, measurement of atmospheric cloud condensation nuclei, characterization of lignin degradation, and recovery of valuable metals from fracking waters. As a part of the program, students also received weekly training in science communication, community outreach, and research ethics.

This year’s participants and their home institutions are:

  • Jesus Bautista, Eastern Michigan University
  • Mary Engfelt, St. Olaf College
  • Jack Gara, Benedictine College
  • Ethan Hauser, College of St. Scholastica
  • Andrew Kohler, Cal Poly Pomona
  • Jonah Laducer, Turtle Mountain Community College
  • Shelly Lu, Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Alexa Otto, University of North Dakota
  • Jhaiquashia Peterson, Savannah State University
  • Matthew Young, University of Jamestown