Frank Low Research Day award winners named

The 38th annual Frank Low Research Day was held at the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences April 19. Following the event, several of the more than 120 participants were given awards for their poster presentations.

Congratulations to the winners of the best poster awards, who earned $100 each from the SMHS Office of the Dean, Joshua Wynne.

The winners, by category, follow.

Biomedical Sciences Graduate Students
Moriah Hovde (Mentor: James Foster)
Anne Schaar (Mentor: Anne Schaar)
Jared Schommer (Mentor: Othman Ghribi)
Jessica Warns (Mentor: Othman Ghribi)

Health Sciences Graduate Students
Alycia Heisler, Occupational Therapy (Mentor: LaVonne Fox)
John LeClerk, Occupational Therapy (Mentor: Anne Haskins)

Patrick Olson, Master of Public Health (Mentor: C. Cristina Oancea)

 Larson Danes (Mentor: Junguk Hur)

 Medical Student—Clinical
C. Leigh Moyer (Mentor: Larry Burd)

 Medical Student—Basic
Michael Storandt (Mentor: James Foster)

Jacob Greenmeyer (Mentor: Larry Burd)

Quinggang Wang (Mentor: Marc Basson)

 Medical Resident
 Karen Luk (Mentor: Mary Aaland)

“We want to thank everyone who participated in making Frank Low Research Day a success,” said Marc Basson, the School’s senior associate dean for Medicine and Research. “This year was our largest turnout ever, and we appreciate the high level of participation by students, faculty, and staff at the School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Special thanks to Dean of the School, Dr. Wynne, for his ongoing support of this important annual event, and to Dr. Rosanna Peeling for giving her address on antibiotic resistance.”

The event’s keynote speaker, Rosanna Peeling, professor and chair of Diagnostics Research at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and director of the International Diagnostics Centre, gave an engaging talk entitled “The Global Crisis of Antimicrobial Resistance: Be part of the Solution!”

Invited talks were given also given by: Nii Koney-Kwaku Koney, graduate student (Mentor: Sergei Nechaev); Meghan A. Rodriquez, graduate student (Mentor: L. Keith Henry); Ann Schaar, graduate student (Mentor: Brij Singh); Kai Guo, post-doctoral student (Mentor: Junguk Hur); Harpeet Kaur, post-doctoral student (Mentor: Colin Combs); Brett Johnson, medical student (Mentor: Kelly Birdwell); Sydney Larson, graduate student (Mentor: Sarah Nielsen); Rachel Bonneville, graduate student (Mentor: Anne Haskins); Avish Nagpal, clinical assistant professor, SMHS Department of Internal Medicine; Ian Watson, graduate student (Mentor: S. Cristina Oancea); and Cecilia Benz, resident (Mentors: Cornelius Dyke and Marc Basson).

Named in honor of the former SMHS anatomy professor who came to UND in the 1960s and pioneered a series of new techniques for the electron microscope, Frank Low Research Day is the culminating event of the academic year for many area researchers working in the biomedical and health sciences. At this year’s Frank Low Day event, 122 faculty members, post-doctoral fellows, and students presented oral and poster presentations on a wide range of basic biomedical, health sciences, translational, and clinical topics.