Search Committee names Armacost, Stenberg Nichols and Rosowsky finalists for UND President

Three finalists have been chosen to interview with the North Dakota State Board of Higher Education for president of the University of North Dakota.

The Presidential Search Committee, at their meeting Friday, Nov. 22, has named the following finalists:

The finalists will be interviewed by the State Board of Higher Education at a meeting Dec. 3, and UND’s new president is expected to be announced at that time.

Co-chairing the UND Presidential Search Committee were Dr. Casey Ryan, SBHE member, and Dr. Dennis Elbert, UND alumnus.

“I want to thank co-chair Dr. Elbert and the committee for selecting an excellent group of candidates to be interviewed by the State Board of Higher Education. UND will get an excellent president selected from this group,” said Ryan following the selection of finalists.

Elbert added, “I want to thank the entire committee and especially Dr. Ryan for their dedication and hard work. We had a really dedicated, hard-working committee, and I’m very excited to see these three great candidates advance.”

The search committee invited six candidates to campus to interview for the position between Nov. 12 and 21. Each candidate spent two days on campus and in public forums, meetings with students, faculty and staff, and in interviews with committee members. A total of 61 applications were received for the position.

For more information, including background and videos of the community forums, visit .