School of Medicine & Health Sciences announces sophomore awards

Several second-year UND medical students received sophomore awards on Monday, April 5, when the UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences announced its 2021 Sophomore Awards winners through a virtual awards ceremony.

Academic, teaching, and service awards were awarded on behalf of the School and the North Dakota Medical Association, including:

North Dakota Medical Association Awards

Awarded to second-year students nominated by their peers, the M.D. Class of 2023, and recognized for outstanding performance in the following three curricular areas:

  • Group Leadership and Professionalism – Anja Selland, Rugby, N.D.
    Engages in ethical conduct, facilitates group interaction and productivity, motivates others to learn, exhibits personal integrity, and interacts with others appropriately with respect and courtesy
  • Peer Teaching – Nadia Toumeh, Fargo, N.D.
    Outstanding contributions to the group’s database and facilitating group learning, skillful and accurate presentations, and willingness to assist fellow classmates to learn concepts they do not understand
  • Integration of Basic Science and Clinical Application – Peter Bueide, Fargo, N.D.
    Ability to analyze problems, generate hypotheses, set priorities, test hypotheses and formulate alternative hypotheses, draw appropriate conclusions, and apply the knowledge to patient cases

SMHS Academic Awards

The following awards are given to second-year medical students in recognition of their overall academic achievements:

  • The DeBoer Memorial Award – Keaton Rummel, Bismarck, N.D.
    Given in memory of Mrs. Benjamin DeBoer and presented by the Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Philip H. Woutat Memorial Scholarship Award – Kirsten Bokinskie, Fargo, N.D.
    Presented by the Department of Biomedical Sciences on behalf of Mrs. Philip Woutat in memory of her husband for his service as a radiology instructor
  • William Eugene Cornatzer Award – Sarah Wherley, Velva, N.D.
    Presented by the Department of Biomedical Sciences in memory of Dr. Eugene Cornatzer, founder and inaugural chair of the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, and a pioneering and innovative leader in medical education and biomedical research
  • James Kelleher Award – Mikeala Herberg, Mandan, N.D.
    Presented by the Department of Biomedical Sciences in honor of Dr. Kelleher’s outstanding service to the School of Medicine & Health Sciences, and his dedication and contributions to the teaching of medical students

SMHS Service Award

  • Kevin Monk Award – Anja Selland, Rugby, N.D.
    Given to a second-year medical student for outstanding service to the School of Medicine & Health Sciences.

SMHS faculty were also nominated for Outstanding Teacher Awards by the first- and second-year medical student classes, including:

  • Portrait Award – Rhome Hughes, M.D., M.S.
    For outstanding support of students during their first two years of medical education
  • Golden Apple Awards (for excellence in teaching, given to the instructor whose teaching has had the greatest impact) –
    • Nominated by second-year students: Rhome Hughes, M.D., M.S.
    • Nominated by first-year students: Patrick Carr, Ph.D.