For Your Health
For Your Health

News from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences

SMHS faculty, staff, and retirees to be recognized at Founders Day banquet Feb. 27

UND’s 2020 Founders Day banquet will take place Thursday, Feb. 27, at the Alerus Center. A social will begin at 5:15 p.m. with music provided by the UND Red River Trio. The banquet will begin at 6 p.m. Founders Day marks the anniversary of the signing of the Dakota Territory legislation, establishing the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks. It is the official birthday of UND! The first celebration of Founders Day was held in 1904.

UND Founders Day is also a time to honor members of our campus community. Retirees with at least 15 years of service, faculty and staff with 25-years of service, and department and faculty award winners are recognized at the banquet.

As always, a number of faculty and staff (plus entire departments!) from the UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences are being recognized at this year’s banquet, including:

  • David Rzucidlo, Occupational Therapy, who will be given a VPAA Award for Outstanding Professional Academic Advising;
  • Department of Pathology, which will be given the UND Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching; and
  • Department of Occupational Therapy, which will be given the UND Award for Departmental Excellence in Service.

25-year honorees from the SMHS are:

  • James D. Foster, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Sciences
  • Diane Hillebrand, Grants Manager, Research Affairs
  • Sue Jeno, Associate Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Mark Poolman, Instructor / Asst Clinical Coord/ATC, Sports Medicine
  • David Relling, Department Chair, Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Mark Romanick, Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Makoto Tsuchiya, Asst Professor / Ed & IT Coord/ATC, Sports Medicine

SMHS retirees being honored are:

  • Jean Altepeter, Senior Human Resources Officer, Dean’s Office, SMHS
  • Lori Anderson, Administrative Assistant, Surgery
  • Stacy Askvig, Medical Technologist, Minot Center for Family Medicine (CFM)
  • Patsy Bergan, Administrative Secretary (Clinic), NW Campus – Minot
  • Cynthia Carlson, Registered Nurse, Minot CFM
  • Nicole Klemisch, Registered Nurse, Bismarck CFM
  • Marv Leier, Public Information Specialist, Center for Rural Health
  • Renee Mabey, Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Joy Mack, Administrative Secretary, NE Campus – Grand Forks
  • Theresa Norton, Academic (Prof.) Librarian, Library Health Sciences
  • Sharon Reistad, Medical Technologist, Minot CFM
  • Michael Safratowich, Academic (Prof.) Librarian, Library Health Sciences
  • Mona Shilling, Administrative Secretary, Family & Community Medicine
  • Mary Smith, Information Processing (Clinic), Minot CFM
  • Stephen Stripe, Associate Professor, Minot CFM
  • Sonia Zimmerman, Professor, Occupational Therapy

Congratulations to award winners, and thanks to all honorees for their service to UND!