For Your Health

News from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences

ACP North Dakota Chapter announces 2020 awards

The American College of Physicians North Dakota Chapter is proud to announce award winners from its annual virtual meeting to be held on Friday, Oct. 16, 2020.

The Laureate Award was presented to Dr. Neville Alberto. The Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education or research and in service to their community, their Chapter and the American College of Physicians. The recipient of this award shall bear the title Laureate of the North Dakota Chapter.

The Fostering Diversity in Medicine Award was presented to Dr. Donald Warne. The award is given to a physician with outstanding accomplishments in advancing diversity in clinical medicine or research, and/or access to care in relation to diverse populations.

The Woman Physician of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Laura Nichols. The award honors an outstanding woman physician with a distinguished career in areas of exceptional patient care, medical education and/or research.

The Volunteerism and Community Service Award was presented to the Disease Control and Laboratory Services divisions of the North Dakota Department of Health for their outstanding efforts during the current coronavirus pandemic. This award was initiated to honor members or associates of the North Dakota Chapter who have distinguished themselves in voluntary service in the area of medicine. Recipients of this award have distinguished themselves as true humanitarians to be honored for their voluntary contributions in medicine.

Dr. Julie Blehm has been awarded with ACP Mastership. An ACP Master is selected because of “integrity, positions of honor, impact in practice or in medical research or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine.”

Congratulations to all award winners!