For Your Health
For Your Health

News from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences

Physical Therapy Students at UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences receive scholarships

Nearly 30 physical therapy students at the UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences received scholarship awards for the 2021 year recently.

“We are very grateful for the tremendous support from UND PT alumni, friends, and the UND Alumni Association & Foundation,” said David Relling, P.T., Ph.D., chair of the UND Department of Physical Therapy. “These scholarships will help address the substantial financial needs that students face as they complete their professional education. The scholarships acknowledge the academic accomplishments and service contributions of these very deserving future physical therapists.”

Academic, leadership, and service awards given by the Department on behalf of the UND Alumni Association & Foundation and its many donors include:

Mohr Emerging Leader in Pediatric Physical Therapy Scholarship: Awarded to third-year PT students who have demonstrated: 1) leadership during undergraduate and graduate experiences; 2) a strong commitment to the profession of physical therapy; 3) high academic performances and the desire to expand knowledge and leadership skills in pediatrics; and 4) high potential as a clinician in pediatric physical therapy.

  • Hannah Brennan (Sartell, Minn.)
  • Abigail Stroup (Fargo, N.D.)
  • Amy Svir (Thief River Falls, Minn.)

Thomas and Peggy Mohr Physical Therapy Scholarship: Awarded to second-year PT student(s): 1) in good academic standing, 2) with financial need; and 3) a potential for professional service.

  • Briton Bussman (Milnor, N.D.)
  • Kayla LeBon (Sioux Falls, S.D.)
  • Lauren Marshall (Kason, Minn.)
  • Brooke Millerbernd (Littlefork, Minn.)
  • Tyler Schauer (East Grand Forks, Minn.)

Arnold “Arnie” Keck Memorial Scholarship: Arnie Keck was a long-time anatomy instructor and an assistant professor in UND’s PT Department from 1968-1973 and 1981-1996.

  • Andrew McCarthy (Minnetrista, Minn.)

Clarence Blecha Physical Therapy Scholarship: was established by Clarence’s wife, Esther, to honor Clarence. Although not an alumnus or faculty member at UND-PT, Clarence was a long-time friend of the program and one of the first physical therapists to practice in North Dakota.

  • Katie Running (Rogers, Minn.)

Karl Stadem Memorial Scholarship: Karl Stadem graduated from the UND-PT program in 1980. The scholarship is given to a student interested in practicing in the rural Great Plains who has a high motivation for the profession of physical therapy, demonstrates perseverance and strong character, and is independent of family support.

  • Nasya Sechser Roth (Hartford, S.D.)

Marilyn Horner Rose Memorial Scholarship: Marilyn Horner Rose graduated from UND-PT program in 1981. The scholarship bearing her name is given to a physical therapy student who has earned a high GPA and who shows great promise as a clinician.

  • Kaitlin Feist (Bismarck, N.D.)

Jodi and Scott Boettner Physical Therapy Scholarship: The Boettners provide one or more academic scholarships to second- and third-year PT student(s) in good academic standing at UND. Preference will be given to a motivated and caring student who shows interest in practicing PT in a geriatric setting.

  • Samantha Lankow (Rothsay, Minn.)
  • Cassidy Koski (Gillette, Wyo.)

Wesley Hoffman Physical Therapy Scholarship: for “students enrolled in the professional physical therapy program.”

  • Chelsea Edwards (Grand Forks, N.D.)
  • Kerry Hoffman (Glasgow, Mont.)
  • Cassidy Limke (Carpio, N.D.)
  • Matthew Soltis (Plymouth, Minn.)

Stoney Gessner Scholarship: Preference shall be given to North Dakota residents who are in their second or third year of the PT program and who are actively involved with the North Dakota Physical Therapy Association.

  • Briton Bussman (Milnor, N.D.)

PT 50th Anniversary Scholarship:

  • Hunter Huschka (Hope, N.D.)
  • Dustin Koehnen (Winsted, Minn.)

Bud Wessman Scholarship: For students who display strong leadership qualities, a strong commitment to the profession of physical therapy, and a strong commitment to community service.

  • Rachel Beaner (Sioux Falls, S.D.)
  • Katie Running (Rogers, Minn.)
  • Kaitlin Feist (Bismarck, N.D.)

Larry Mullins Physical Therapy Scholarship Fund: Larry Mullins is a UND PT alumnus who funds the scholarship to enhance diversity in the profession and decrease PT student debt.  Preference for the scholarship are the primary caregiver of a minor child or minor children, veterans, a member of a LGBTQ+ organization or working for or promoting the needs of LGBTQ+, or members of underrepresented groups.

  • Ashley Hadrava (Hibbing, Minn.)
  • Katie Harris (Andover, Minn.)
  • Olivia Smith (Sheyenne, N.D.)