For Your Health
For Your Health

News from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences

SMHS announces end-of-year faculty and medical student award winners

The University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences (SMHS) presented a number of awards to its graduating medical students and the School’s faculty and other community volunteers during its Commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 7, including the Dean’s Special Recognition Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Faculty.

Of the roughly 1,700 physicians in North Dakota, more than 1,300 have voluntary clinical faculty appointments at the SMHS, said Joshua Wynne, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H., vice president for health affairs and dean of the SMHS.

“As a community-based institution, the School could not carry out its educational mission without the dedication and sacrifice of our voluntary faculty members,” Wynne added. “We are fortunate to have many dedicated physicians from across North Dakota who teach. These physicians have gone above and beyond the call of duty in giving our students the benefit of their time, experience, knowledge, and wisdom gained from years of caring for patients.”

The winners of the Dean’s Special Recognition Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Faculty were:

  • Jo Ellison, Ph.D., ABPP, Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Science, Essentia Health, Fargo, N.D. (UND Class of 2012)
  • Jessie A. Fauntleroy, M.D., Clinical Instructor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Trinity Health, Minot, N.D.
  • Karalee Harper, MMGT, LAC, Clinical Instructor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Science, Heartview Foundation, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Tana S. Setness Hoefs, M.D., Clinical Instructor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Altru Health System, Grand Forks, N.D.

The graduating medical student class also selected the following outstanding physicians-teachers at each campus:

  • Bismarck: Peter Klemin, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, M.D. Class of 2007
  • Fargo: Neil Karjalainen, M.D., Clinical Instructor of Surgery
  • Grand Forks: Bernie Dallum, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Radiology
  • Minot: James Schmidt, M.D., Clinical Instructor of Family & Community Medicine, M.D. Class of 2004

Awards given to graduating medical students included:

North Dakota Medical Association Awards  

  • Ryan Norris
  • Sarah Pippin
  • Cole Sogge

North Dakota Medical Association Alliance Award

  • Andrew Carman
  • Emily Falcon

North Dakota District Medical Society Awards  

  • First District (Fargo) – Bethany Freeland LeClair and Anne Sandstrom
  • Third District (Grand Forks) – Seth Arntz
  • Fourth District (Minot) – Erika Ysabelle Mojica
  • Sixth District (Bismarck) – Bradley Conant

University Alumni Special Awards

  • Ryan Norris
  • Donald Hamm
  • Seth Arntz

Dr. John Wahl Memorial Rural Health Scholarship Endowment Award  

  • Matthew Amundson

Kokila and Raman Patel, M.D., Family Practice Award           

  • Rachel Silkey

George And Margaret Seaworth Scholarship Endowment Award

  • Hunter Huff Towle

Dr. Frank E. Stinchfield Award, academically outstanding student   

  • Mikayla Forness

Dr. Nadim and Rola Kanafani Koleilat Award  

  • Cole Sogge

The Welsh Award  

  • Donald Hamm
  • Zachary Podoll

Robert C. Painter, M.D., Internal Medicine Award

  • Mikayla Forness

Lloyd S. Ralston, M.D., Memorial Endowment Award

  • Samantha Fabrizio

Dr. Louis B. and Thelma K. Silverman Medical Award  

  • Sarah Pippin

Altru Clinic Senior Medical Student Fund Award  

  • Ann Renner
  • Cole Sogge
  • Donald Hamm

Preceptor Recognition Student Scholarship (given this year in honor of Dr. Dev Mannuru)

  • Zachary Mohs
  • Samuel Wilke

American College Of Physicians – Department Of Internal Medicine Mack V. Traynor Award

  • Marcus Osman

Department Of Obstetrics And Gynecology Senior Award

  • Sarah Rasmussen

Department Of Pathology Senior Awards

  • Margarita Consing
  • Bethany Freeland LeClair
  • RaMae Harpestad
  • Tanner Simonson

Bradley Neil Meyer, M.D., Diagnostic Radiology Award  

  • Seth Arntz
  • Jared Magnuson

Department of Surgery Senior Award  

  • Mitchell Sand
  • Zachary Podoll

Michael Kaspari Recovery Award

  • Andrew Carman

Richard P. Stadter Excellence In Psychiatry Award

  • Luke Keller

Joy M. Query Prize For Social And Behavioral Science

  • Nora Rimatzki

Reverend Elmer And Min West Memorial Faculty Award

  • Stephen Tinguely, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, Assistant Dean for Medical Accreditation, and Chief Medical Accreditation Officer

School of Medicine & Health Sciences Faculty Excellence Endowment Award

  • Jon Solberg, M.D., Chair and Clinical Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
  • Colin Combs, Ph.D., Chair and Professor of Biomedical Sciences
  • Peter Sandroni, M.D., Assistant Professor of Family & Community Medicine, and Program Director, UND Center for Family Medicine, Minot