For Your Health
For Your Health

News from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences

Gold Humanism Honor Society host Induction Ceremony recognizing 11 students, 3 faculty

The UND chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) held an Induction Ceremony and Banquet at the UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences on July 13. At the event, keynote speaker Dr. Jon Allen and his fellow chapter advisors Dr. Charles Christianson and Dr. John Hagen helped induct several faculty, resident, and student members into the GHHS.

GHHS is a national society, supported by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, which honors medical students, residents, and physicians who demonstrate humanistic values in medicine, clinical excellence, compassion, leadership, and dedication to service. UND’s GHHS Chapter is committed to fostering a culture of humanism and professionalism within the field of medicine while providing a formal recognition of those students who demonstrate humanistic values during their clinical education. Values elevated by the Chapter include integrity, sound moral reasoning, compassion and empathy toward patients, respect for and effective communication with colleagues, empowerment of others, altruism, and a commitment to humanitarian services. The Chapter is supported by the Office of the Dean and the Office of Student Affairs & Admissions.

The School’s GHHS inductees for 2023 included:

  • Clinical Faculty – Drs. Avish Nagpal, Jacqueline Quisno, and Patrick Kane
  • Residents – Drs. Jessica McLaughlin and Lucy Chisler
  • Students – Nathaniel Albrecht, Timothy Colwell, Megan Corn, Danielle Dearing, Megan DeVillers, Ellen Erie, Madeline Klein, Jordan Krieg, Torrin Poss, Stephanie Ziegler

“At the core of compassion and empathy is human connection,” said fourth-year medical student Torrin Poss following her induction into GHHS. “We cannot be compassionate and empathetic providers without first connecting with our patients.”

During the third year of their medical education, students are prompted to write letters of support for classmates with examples of how they exemplify the Chapter’s mission and values. The Selection Committee, consisting of three Chapter Advisors and the fourth-year student Chapter Leaders, review these nominations and select nominees to submit curricula vitae and personal statements for further consideration. Up to 15% of the class is selected to become GHHS inductees. Students must be in good academic standing. GHHS members also have this honor recognized at graduation and noted in the Dean’s Letter. Up to four UND clinical faculty members may be nominated by students and inducted into the Chapter annually. This is the first year UND-affiliated residencies have been incorporated into the school’s Chapter. Up to six Resident Physicians can be inducted into the Chapter via peer nomination and a Selection Committee that includes six residency Program Directors and the Director of Graduate Medical Education.

“With the mounting duties of being a physician that seem to bring you away from the patient, it is as important as ever to have a group like this to re-emphasize the human at the center of it all,” added Poss’s cohort Timothy Colwell.

Members of the UND GHHS Chapter are expected to be involved in various activities and events with emphasis on mentorship, promotion of clinical excellence, advocation for professionalism and humanism, and coordination of volunteer service opportunities at UND and in ND communities. The Chapter will be student driven with oversight from its advisors, who are all previous recipients of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. The prestigious Tow Award recognizes one fourth-year medical student and one clinical faculty member who are exemplars of humanism in medicine. Annual selection of recipients of this Award by the Chapter will begin in the coming year.

More information on the Gold Humanism Honor Society can be found on the national GHHS website, UND Chapter website, or by contacting the Chapter President, Timothy Colwell ( or Chapter Advisor, Dr. Jon Allen (