For Your Health
For Your Health

News from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences

Medical Doctor Class of 2027 begins studies at UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences

“I chose UND because I just really enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere the interview provided and I come from a rural community so I knew I would fit in well,” said Madison Schumacher, confessing that she was drawn to UND in part because she loves wintry weather. “I’m super excited to be here and meet everyone and get into the swing of things, but definitely a bit nervous about the course-load at the same time.”

Schumacher is one of 78 first-year medical students, members of the Doctor of Medicine Class of 2027, who began their journey to become physicians this week at the UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences (SMHS).

The students’ first week is dedicated to orientation, including an introduction to UND’s nationally recognized, four-year, patient-centered learning curriculum where biomedical and clinical sciences are taught in the context of an interdisciplinary educational setting. Special emphasis is placed on students’ new roles and expectations of them as health professionals.

Orientation week concludes with a White Coat Ceremony, wherein students recite the Oath of Hippocrates and receive their first white coats, which have been donated by the North Dakota Medical Association and a variety of donors.

“I am excited to be here because it’s a privilege to be a physician and, in that role, be a part of a community,” added North Dakota-native Aaron Vanyo, who earned a degree in nursing before matriculating with the SMHS. “This is the first step towards that.”

Ranging in age from 21 to 38 years, and with an average age of 24, the vast majority of this year’s entering students are from North Dakota and Minnesota. The cohort comes to UND’s medical school with experience in an array of fields, including: accountancy, biochemistry, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, forensic science, nursing, microbiology, psychology, and women and gender studies.

Some of these first-year students already hold advanced degrees, including master’s degrees in bioethics, epidemiology, microbiology, and public health, and one doctoral degree in biomedical science.

“I honestly cannot wait to see what our medical student Class of 2027 brings to the table for our School – and our state,” said Joshua Wynne, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H., vice president for health affairs at UND and dean of the School of Medicine & Health Sciences. “I still get a thrill every summer when I greet the incoming class and am reminded of my own first day of medical school. Although it was more than a few years ago, I remember how excited and proud I was—along with a strong dose of apprehension. I’ll be mindful of my own mixed emotions of long ago when I welcome the new class and help start them on their exciting and rewarding journey.”

Founded in 1905, the SMHS is North Dakota’s only medical college and the most comprehensive collection of health sciences programs in the state, graduating more than 300 physicians, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, medical lab scientists, athletic trainers, and public health professionals annually.

The UND M.D. Class of 2027 is as follows:

  • Maryam Al-Kaabi, West Fargo, N.D.
  • Allison Anderson, Montrose, Minn.
  • Megan Anderson, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Teagan Anderson, Horace, N.D.
  • John Atagozli, Tiffin, Iowa
  • Abigail Bartholomay, Bowman, N.D.
  • Kaitlyn Berwald, Vadnais Heights, Minn.
  • Cody Boyle, Grand Forks, N.D.
  • Zachary Bueling, Horace, N.D.
  • August Burg, Olathe, Kan.
  • McKenzie Burian, Fargo, N.D.
  • Charles Cameron, Bloomington, Minn.
  • Kaleb Card, Fargo, N.D.
  • Jordan Charlie, Albuquerque, N.M.
  • Kaitlyn Bjerke, Fargo, N.D.
  • Levi Coon, Helena, Mont.
  • Elsie Dickerson, Butte, Mont.
  • Dani Douri, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Julia Edelstein, Omaha, Neb.
  • Nathan Fix, Grand Forks, N.D.
  • Madeleine Flanders, Houston, Texas
  • Gavin Folkert, Elgin, Minn.
  • Paxton Franke, Fargo, N.D.
  • Peyton Frolek, Lidgerwood, N.D.
  • Charles Garrity, Fargo, N.D.
  • Freddie-Leigh Griffin, Mandan, N.D.
  • Isaiah Germolus, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Matthew Gillen, Parker, Colo.
  • Sydnee Goetz, Gilbert, Ariz.
  • Jade Goodwill, Saint Michaels, Ariz.
  • Spencer Gordon, Bozeman, Mont.
  • Abbigail Grieger, Fargo, N.D.
  • Brayden Groll, Dickinson, N.D.
  • Alec Heesch, Christine, N.D.
  • Sariyah Hossain, West Fargo, N.D.
  • Lauren Jorda, Dickinson, N.D.
  • Luke Kosel, Osage, Minn.
  • Jessica Lanoue, Glenwood, Minn.
  • David Lee, Billings, Mont.
  • Elena Linster, West Fargo, N.D.
  • Emily Lygre, St. Joseph, Minn.
  • Audrey Marjamaa, Roanoke, Ind.
  • Morgan Mastrud, Fargo, N.D.
  • Alexus Meduna, Dickinson, N.D.
  • Elena Miller, Shakopee, Minn.
  • Ian Mills, Brooklyn Park, Minn.
  • Jordan Moser, Roseau, Minn.
  • Jimmy Ogden, Tahlequah, Okla.
  • Jacob O’Hearn, St. Louis Park, Minn.
  • Brian Olson, Lakeland, Minn.
  • Paolo Panales, Minot, N.D.
  • Dev Patel, Fargo, N.D.
  • Karrah Peterson, Laurel, Mont.
  • Paige Priest, Portland, Ore.
  • Karissa Prom, Fargo, N.D.
  • Hannah Rathgeber, Dickinson, N.D.
  • Bailey Riehl, West Fargo, N.D.
  • Journey Roberge, Forest Lake, Minn.
  • Mark Rohleder, Fargo, N.D.
  • Olivia Rubald, Medina, Minn.
  • Bianca Savant, Chicago, Ill.
  • Myckynzie Schroeder, Chicago, Ill.
  • Madison Schumacher, Tracy, Minn.
  • Reese Siegle, Ada, Okla.
  • Mona Sohrabi Thompson, Grand Forks, N.D.
  • Jack Stensgard, Moorhead, Minn.
  • Jewel Stone, Duluth, Minnesota
  • Jakob Swan, Minneapolis, Minn.
  • Jacob Teigen, West Fargo, N.D.
  • Mason Trahan, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Chase Urie, Proctor, Minn.
  • Aaron Vanyo, Grand Forks, N.D.
  • James Wagner, Stillwater, Minn.
  • Karley Warner, West Fargo, N.D.
  • Claire Westby, Lake Elmo, Minn.
  • Samantha Weston, Fargo, N.D.
  • Mia Wilkinson, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Sandi Zukanovic, Fargo, N.D.