University Letter

UND's faculty and staff newsletter

Meritorious, Baker Award winners named

UND held its annual staff recognition luncheon on Tuesday, May 10. At the event, 10 staff were given Meritorious Service Awards, UND’s highest staff honor, and one person received the Ken & Toby Baker UND Proud Award.

Staff members were also recognized for the major milestones of 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, and 45 years of service.

The Meritorious Service Awards are given in recognition of individuals who best reflect honor upon the University and community through a combination of job performance, relationship with associates, and the ability to relate their work to the missions and values of the University. Meritorious Service awards of $1,000 are given to employees chosen by the selection committee based on nominations submitted to Human Resources by employee’s at UND

The following staff members received Meritorious Service Awards.

  • Harry Feilen, Director of Drilling and Completion Labs, College of Engineering and Mines
  • Kristen Borysewicz, Research Skills Instruction Coordinator, Reference Librarian, Chester Fritz Library
  • Karen Harrie, Online Admissions Secretary, College of Education and Human Development
  • Terry Nelson, Associate Director, Budget & Facilities Management, School of Medicine and Health Affairs
  • Monica Evavold, Events & Projects Coordinator, Ceremonies and University Events
  • Cynthia Pariseau, Barista Supervisor, Retail Dining Operations
  • Matthew Flom, Research Specialist, Biology Department
  • Paula Cox, Honors Program Associate
  • Nathan Marshall, Carpenter Shop Supervisor, Facilities Management
  • Rob Bakke. Maintenance Technician, Facilities Management

The Ken & Toby Baker UND Proud Award, along with $1,000, is presented to a UND staff employee who, through extraordinary public service, has made lasting contributions to the external community, over and above the expectations of his or her regular University position.

The Ken and Toby Baker Award was given to Jennifer Berger, Director of Emergency Management, Office of Public Safety.