UND Today

University of North Dakota’s Official News Source

Search begins for new VP for Health Affairs/dean of School of Medicine & Health Sciences

Successful candidate will succeed Dr. Joshua Wynne, who has served in the roles for nearly 15 years

UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences
The UND School of Medicine & Health Sciences. Image courtesy of the school.

UND is launching a national search for its next vice president for Health Affairs and dean of the School of Medicine & Health Sciences (SMHS).

The successful candidate will begin no later than Jan. 1, 2025, and will succeed Dr. Joshua Wynne. Dr. Wynne will have served 15 years at UND by the time his successor is announced.

“Dr. Wynne has been a trusted and valued leader for SMHS and for the entire campus, and we are grateful for his work in making the University of North Dakota a leader in education, research and service to the state of North Dakota and the nation,” said UND President Andy Armacost.

Dr. Art Malloy, vice president for student affairs, and Dr. Maridee Shogren, dean of the College of Nursing & Professional Disciplines, will co-chair the search committee. They will be supported by WittKieffer, a search firm that offers executive-search services focused on education, health care and life sciences, to develop a candidate pool over the summer.

“We are grateful for the volunteerism and spirit of service of the 20 search committee members,” said Armacost. “They represent a broad set of constituents connected with SMHS and UND, and we are eager to see their progress in attracting renowned and talented candidates to lead the school.”

Consultants with WittKieffer are conducting focus groups the weeks of March 18 and 25 to better understand what the UND community wants in its next VPHA/dean. The campus community can participate in this process via survey, which can be found on the search website.

Semi-finalist interviews will be conducted in mid-August, and finalists will be invited to campus shortly thereafter. Additional search information is available online.

Search Committee Members

  • Art Malloy, EdD – Vice President for Student Affairs / Search Committee Co-Chair
  • Maridee Shogren, DNP – Dean, College of Nursing & Professional Disciplines / Search Committee Co-Chair
  • Misty Anderson, DO – Internal Medicine, Sanford Health Valley City Clinic
  • DeAnna Carlson Zink – CEO, UND Alumni Association & Foundation
  • Paul Carson, MD – Director, Center for Immunization Research & Education / Professor, Public Health, NDSU
  • Colin Combs, PhD – Associate Dean of Research / Chair, Biomedical Sciences, SMHS
  • Cindy Flom-Meland, PhD – Chair / Professor, Physical Therapy
  • John Gray, MD – Internal Medicine & Nephrology, Kidney Specialists of Minnesota
  • Jeff Hostetter, MD – Medical Director, Bismarck Center for Family Medicine
  • Jay Metzger, PhD – Assistant Professor, Physician Assistant Studies, SMHS
  • Dave Molmen – SMHS Advisory Council
  • Melanie Nadeau, PhD – Graduate Program Director & Assistant Professor, Indigenous Health, SMHS
  • Bob Newman, PhD – Professor, Biology
  • Ross Ogden – SMHS Medical Student, President MD Class of 2027
  • Josh Ranum, MD – Internal Medicine, West River Health Services
  • Ken Ruit, PhD – Senior Associate Dean & Associate Professor, SMHS
  • Judy Solberg, PhD – Chief of Staff, Office of the Dean, SMHS
  • Zauna Synnott – Department Manager, Indigenous Health, SMHS
  • Jacob Tupa – SMHS Medical Student, President MD Class of 2026
  • Susan Zelewski, MD – Associate Dean Clinical Medical Education, SMHS / Pediatrician, Altru
  • Jen Rogers – Director of University Policy / Search Committee Chief Administrative Officer