Grand Rounds

SMHS Student Affairs & Admissions News

Southwest Campus update

Welcome to Bismarck, for those of you that are new, and welcome back to those of you that have already been here! As you’re all aware, it has definitely been a trying time for all of us with the pandemic on our doorsteps. We just want to let you know that those of us in Bismarck are here to help you through all aspects of your educational process. You can ask any one of us questions, or even just come in to talk about a stressful day—we’re here for you. Dr. Michael Booth is our associate dean and Jodi Rathjen is the administrative officer who works with fourth-year students for scheduling. Susanna Warner is our Administrative Secretary and knows how to help you connect to any one of us. Maxine Johnson takes care of third-year student scheduling in the departments of Pediatrics, OB/GYN, Neurology, and Psychiatry. Deb West takes care of third-year student scheduling in the departments of Surgery and Internal Medicine, and also helps with Family Medicine. The Departments of Radiology and Emergency Medicine managed by both Susanna Warner and Jodi Rathjen.

Our current directors are the following: Dr. John Hagan and Dr. Candice Crichlow for Internal Medicine; Dr. Bree Dewing, Dr. Jeanette Viney, and Dr. Brian Johnson for Surgery; Dr. Shiraz Hyder for Neurology; Dr. Gabriela Balf for Psychiatry; Dr. Jerry Obritsch for OB/GYN; and Dr. Parag Kumar for Pediatrics. We work mainly with Sanford Health, Mid Dakota Clinic, and CHI St. Alexius, but there are several satellite clinics we use also.

We look forward to having you on our campus!